St John's Care Committee

Chair -  Glenda Richards

Social Worker (retired). Positions held include Senior Social Worker Rehabilitation, ACT Health. Social Worker Aged Care, ACT Health, Psychiatric Services, North Queensland, Child Guidance, North Queensland. Former Chair of the Board, Community Options, Inc. ACT. Glenda has a particular commitment to Community Advocacy.

Deputy Chair - John Stafford    

Deputy Director, Strategic Management, Capability Acquisition and Sustainment Group, Facilitator, Parish Council Risk Advisory Committee.

Rector - Rev’d Canon Paul Black

Rector at St John's from  January 2008 having previously held positions in the Dioceses of Melbourne and Rockhampton. He did his theological training at St John’s College, Morpeth, in the Diocese of Newcastle. He was ordained deacon and priest by the Bishop of Rockhampton in 1986 and 1987. Rev’d Paul has a commitment to social justice and supporting vulnerable people.  

Secretary - Grace Koch 

Adjunct Senior Lecturer with the National Centre for Indigenous Studies, ANU. Visiting Researcher with the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS). Former Board member, National Film and Sound Archive.

Treasurer - Ann Poole


Member - Chi Mio Carroll

Owner, Fortune Cookie Restaurant. Previous positions held include: Associate, Booz&Co; Senior Manager, Capgemini; Senior Manager, Accenture; Manager, Unisys.

Parish Council Representative - Russell Tunks

Contract Manager Defence. Previous positions: Senior Release Manager NHS, Officer in the Royal Australian Air Force. 


Anglicare Representative - Brad Braithwaite

Deputy CEO, Anglicare. Previous positions held include: Deputy CEO, Argyle Community Housing; Director Strategic Initiatives and Executive Manager, Social Sciences, University of Wollongong; GM Marketing & Communications, IRT; Director, IRIS Research; Business Intelligence Manager, AHM.

Volunteer Representative - Beth Heyde 

Volunteer at SJC since 2003. Former research biochemist at ANU and later senior executive, corporate centre CSIRO; extensive Diocesan governance and management experience (including as Foundation Board Chair for Burgmann Anglican School, and Vice-Chair Radford College);  former member and  Chair of General Synod Public Affairs Commission.

Member - Judy Ford

Chief Executive Officer of Heart Support Australia. Previous employment with Canberra Hospital Foundation, Indigenous Community Volunteers, ANU, SIDS & Kids, Anglicare. Certified Fundraising Executive (CFRE); Fellow Fundraising Institute Australia (FFIA); Associate Member of Institute of Community Directors Australia (AMICDA) and Fellow EducatePlus  (FEdPlus). 

Member - John Edquist 

Retired public servant.  Former Deputy Chair of the Inner South Canberra Community Council and SJC Treasurer.

Member - Alistair Cain

Senior IT Consultant.